Gethenian Suite

Can a book be translated into sound? Gethenian Suite is a musical suite inspired by Ursula Le Guin’s science fiction classic The Left Hand of Darkness. Jazz, chamber music and pop meet in this imaginative work.

On the basis of Ursula Le Guin’s science fiction classic The Left Hand of Darkness the composer Erik Dahl has created a musical suite. It is a journey into the universe of the book. Erik Dahl Ensemble performs the piece with verve and passion. A cinematic concert experience in the borderlands between chamber music, jazz and space pop.

Erik describes the project like this:
”I wanted to write a large coherent work. And I wanted extramusical inspiration. The beautiful novel by Le Guin was perfect. So full of ideas, settings and emotions. In a way it is like film music but with much more freedom. I take my reactions to the book and give them musical form. It let’s you visit the planet Gethen and it’s androgynous inhabitants.”

Erik Dahl: piano
Anna Cochrane: violin/viola
Anna Malmström: clarinet/bass clarinet
Andreas Thurfjell: alto/baritone saxophone
Tove Brandt: double bass
William Soovik: drums/percussion

The music is written for sextet, but we have occasionally performed in smaller constellations. Sometimes that is a good option. We perform the music with or without the projections depending on the situation. Don’t hesitate to ask if you have questions.